Yeap, this is online version.
I have local installation of it so I trace from my PC.
----- Original Message ----- From: "Craig Gittens" <cgittens@sunbeach.net> To: <IMail_Forum@list.ipswitch.com> Sent: Thursday, March 29, 2001 11:17 AM Subject: RE: ORBSIN: [IMail Forum] Spam Cop (for Scott Perry)
> > http://visualroute.visualware.com/ > > > > > > -----Original Message----- > From: IMail_Forum-owner@list.ipswitch.com > [mailto:IMail_Forum-owner@list.ipswitch.com]On Behalf Of Yuri Levenfeld > Sent: Thursday, March 29, 2001 11:04 AM > To: IMail_Forum@list.ipswitch.com > Subject: Re: ORBSIN: [IMail Forum] Spam Cop (for Scott Perry) > > > Yes, we did. I use a program called "VisualRoute" that graphically traces > IP address to the end provider, with his address, phone number, contact > person, etc, as well as IP block owned and the name of major ISP. > > I reported this guy at least 5 times to his sub-provider and as many times > to his major ISP by phone. All promised "to take care of this issue", but > never did. Interestingly, all contact e-mail addresses listed for this > sub-provider like abuse@..... or postmaster@.... turned out to be invalid > when I tried to send them e-mail. Their major IPS says that they have > "ongoing issue with spamming" from this sub-provider, but apparently they > are in no hurry to shut them down (probably because of looming recession :)) > > > > > ----- Original Message ----- > From: "Scott Perry" <horizons@declude.com> > To: <IMail_Forum@list.ipswitch.com> > Sent: Thursday, March 29, 2001 9:53 AM > Subject: Re: ORBSIN: [IMail Forum] Spam Cop (for Scott Perry) > > > > > Can you give me the address of Spam Cop? We have a situation where > > > one guy is persistently trying to use our SMTP for relay. We blocked > > > his IP subnet completely on the firewall, however, this stupid > > > jackass keeps trying to get in. We reported him many times to his > > > sub-provider, and to his major provider, all in vain. This person > > > is obviously on DSL since his address is relatively stable (within > > > one class C subnet). > > > > > >I want to report his immediate ISP to spam cop. > > > > Unfortunately, "SpamCop" isn't any type of agency with any type of > authority. It's just a program you can run that attempts to automate the > process of notifying the proper ISPs. You can go to http://www.spamcop.net > for more information about it, though. > > > > If he is always coming from the same class C subnet, you can find out who > owns that subnet by going to http://www.declude.com/tools and clicking on > "Whois", and entering one of the IP addresses. It will let you know who > owns the IP range, so you can contact the appropriate person. If you're > just contacting the spammer, you can see who owns the next netblock up, and > complain to them. Complaining *should* work. Send a written letter if you > have toFENEplaining that the ISP's customer is attacking your server. You > might want to contact your lawyer, and have him write the letter, explaining > how the ISP will be liable for damages if they allow this to continue (if > they are indeed liable). > > > > > > -- > > -Scott > > > > Declude: Anti-virus and Anti-spam solutions for IMail. > http://www.declude.com > > -- > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > >